Task time upon creation

Need help with VueMinder Pro or Ultimate? Ask your questions here.
itechlang
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:38 pm

Task time upon creation

Post by itechlang » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:04 am

Hi,

Is there a way to get the right time on a task when we create one? May be it is somewhere in the configuration...

When we do a right-click on the calendar at a particular time and click on the New task item menu, the date is always correct but the "Has start time..." never.

Thanks!

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3853
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Task time upon creation

Post by VueSoft » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:30 pm

Thank you for letting me know about the problem. The task should be defaulting to the selected time slot(s). I'll work on fixing this in the next version, and will let you know when an update is available.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3853
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Task time upon creation

Post by VueSoft » Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:58 pm

This has been fixed for the next version (8.1.2). When timeslots are selected in the Day or Week views when a task is created, the task will occupy the selected timeslots by default. If you'd like an early look, a release-candidate beta can be downloaded here.

Please let me know if you try the beta and find the problem hasn't been fixed.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3853
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Task time upon creation

Post by VueSoft » Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:28 pm

Version 8.1.2 has been officially released and contains the requested correction. The selected timeslots will be used when creating new tasks from the Day and Week tabs in both the main window and the desktop calendar.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

itechlang
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:38 pm

Re: Task time upon creation

Post by itechlang » Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:57 am

Thanks Dan.

I updated my version today, it is working better but still have some cases where the selected timeslots are not used.

I think I found a pattern to reproduce it.

If you move your mouse to a timeslot, let's say 1PM, then wait for 1 sec to get the "Click to add a..." mention, from there, right-click to add a new task from the contextual menu. The start time will then default to the first hour in the day which is 8 AM for me instead of 1PM.

Thanks,
Stéphane

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3853
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Task time upon creation

Post by VueSoft » Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:19 am

Hi Stéphane, thanks for the information. I'll see if I can improve this, and will let you know when there's an update.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Post Reply