script error on printing

Need help with VueMinder Pro or Ultimate? Ask your questions here.
joljol2
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:16 am

script error on printing

Post by joljol2 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:08 am

Hi,
In 8.1.3 when Reminders are to be printed, or an Event is to be quick printed, after the printer choice is offered by the Win 7 Pro OS the error "quit running scripts on this page" appears.

joljol2

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: script error on printing

Post by VueSoft » Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:06 am

Hi joljol2. This is actually a Internet Explorer bug (I know, whodathunkit). It's an intermittent bug that afflicts some computers but not others. I believe Microsoft fixed this in Internet Explorer 9. Could you try upgrading to IE9, and let me know if that doesn't fix it?
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

joljol2
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:16 am

Re: script error on printing

Post by joljol2 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:37 am

My XP won't run IE9.

Could setting Firefox as my default browser help?

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: script error on printing

Post by VueSoft » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:20 am

Installing a different web browser won't help, since the browser component being used is part of Microsoft .NET (the same underlying component used by Internet Explorer).

Here's a link that might help:
http://iefaq.info/index.php?action=arti ... artlang=en

At the bottom of the article in the second link, there are several attachments. Download and run the file that is appropriate for your configuration, and let me know if that doesn’t fix the problem. Some people said it worked, and some said it didn't, but I think it's worth a shot.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

joljol2
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:16 am

Re: script error on printing

Post by joljol2 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:01 pm

IE9 would not print the Browser's current window - "script error, etc."
What has NOW worked so far for IE9 printing.

Activate Toolbars
Tools | Internet Options | Advanced | Accelerated graphics browse

It was checked to use the GPU; maybe I don't have a GPU

Anyway, could NOT be unchecked ! Clicking on the "Use Software rendering" did highlight that choice.

Then getting out of this control and saving settings on the way.
Then closing down IE9, waiting for some RAM buffer to settle.. starting IE9 again.

On the Win 7 Pro, printing worked straight away in IE9.

On the Win 7 Home IE9 Print button the usual printer could not be found. I closed IE9 down again, went to Start | Printers & Devices.. all the previously visible printers did come up with the current Default checked on.

Closed out of that & restarted IE9 & did print the web browser's page.

Will that help in printing a VueMinder reminder? I'll let the wife try it.

And, what about printing from VueMinder on an XP that can't run IE9 ??

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: script error on printing

Post by VueSoft » Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:35 pm

Thanks for the information. I'm afraid the only option for WinXP would be to try these instructions. You can also click the "Copy" button in the Details pane, paste into Word, and print from there.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

joljol2
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:16 am

Re: script error on printing

Post by joljol2 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:16 pm

Hi Dan,

The 32 bit script worked for this XP Fusion virtual machine on a MacBook Pro !

I did have to go through an lengthy driver update process with Lexmark.
Then share the Mac-side Lexmark printer instance with the network,
then repeatedly try to specify that printer on that Mac in the Windows LAN workgroup until it "took".

Now it takes 2X longer to print on the Windows side LAN than it does more directly on the Mac side.

The VM machine settings to make the Mac side default printer available to Windows did not seem to.

Thanks for your help and purview,

joljol2

Post Reply